top of page

An Interesting Recipe... Pumpkin Custard.

My bird is a little bit spoiled.

Okay, a lot bit spoiled.

He gets fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, and seeds everyday. Well, that sounds like a delcious diet. Very paleo, yes?

Since moving to Bloomington from my parents' house this past Christmas , Squeaky has become a great little member of my Bloomington family. Messy, loud, and demanding, yes, but loving and full of kisses, so I keep him around. And, so, he gets spoiled rotten.

So spoiled that I have found recipes specifically for his little birdie self.

Having said that, some of those recipes sound delicious! I mean, I would never subject myself to bird seed balls, or bird vitamin mix, or even millet seed, but here's one that is surprisingly delicious. It follows the rules of the Paleo Diet and it is human (I used a good friend as a quinea pig) and Squeaky approved!

Pumpkin Custard

(makes 4 ramekins)

2 beaten eggs

1/2 cup apple juice (preferably 100% juice)

1 cup canned pumpkin

1 1/2 tbsp honey (I used raw honey since I prefer it and it's full of healthy goodness)

1 tsp cinnamon (for humans, I would even use pumpkin pie spice instead!)

1/4 cup raisins (okay, I may have splurged on 1/2 cup)

Pre-heat the oven to 350°F. Beat the eggs first and then add the remaining ingredients, adding the raisins last. Fill the ramekins with the custard. Put the ramekins in a larger baking dish, and fill the baking dish with hot (or boiling) water, so that the water is about 1 inch up the side of the ramekin. Bake in the oven for approx. 20 mins or until set (a toothpick or knife comes out clean!).

(recipe adapted from www.cockatielcottage.net)

And the best part...

152 calories per serving (less, if you use 1/4 cup of raisins)

So, try it. Let me know what you think!

Much love xx

Hello! I'm Katherine...

Meet Katherine and Squeaky
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page